Gruppenbild.png

UNSER PROJEKT: LIGHT UP!

Samantha Essomba Etama, Future Energies Hackathon 2019

Our beginning

2.jpg

Berlin. November 2019. A group of young people from various professional and cultural backgrounds came together in the Future Energies Hackathon. What drives and welds us together is the same vision: to shape the energy transition in countries in the Global South with sustainable education and everyday resources. We are Light Up! and in a pilot project, we will develop a wind turbine with sustainable, locally available materials at a school in Cameroon in a participatory workshop.

Our goals as Light Up!

  • Contribution to combating anthropogenic climate change

  • Support for a diverse and secure power supply in educational institutions in Cameroon

  • Expansion of renewable energies in the Global South

  • sustainable knowledge transfer and intercultural learning

  • Promote empowerment of young people and women

  • Establishment of a long-term global network of international partners

  • Intercultural dialogue

Our non-profit initiative Light UP! Its objectives are based explicitly on the United Nations Agenda 2030 and its Sustainable Development Goals.

Logo Light Up! .png

OUR TEAM

WhatsApp Image 2020-01-28 at 21.15.19.jp

Project coordination

Power cuts in Cameroon are part of my childhood memories. As a result,Power cuts in Cameroon are part of my childhood memories. The issue of energy supply has been on my mind for a long time. Light Up! gives me a chance to contribute to the energy transition and to support countries in the Global South in their need to expand their energy supply.

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-02 at 16.29.43.jp

LINA WAKESHO TOLLE

Throughout my study period and future career, I am committed to environmental protection, and the activities which advance to its achievement.  Shift to renewable energies is a requirement for sustainable energy supply all over the Globe. I am convinced that our wind turbine project in Cameroon contributes to and supports this Shift.

DSC07789 (1).jpg

JONAS PAUTHNER

As a prospective geographer, I am particularly interested in the issues of the Global South. With LightUp! we want to contribute to the harmonization of living conditions worldwide. We particularly support women and young people.
This drives me!

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-02 at 19.41.35.jp

GILLIAN GUERNE

Last year I started my Master in Management & Engineering at Leuphana University in Lüneburg. I did my bachelor's degree in business administration and sustainability sciences. The "LightUp" project combines these three priorities that interest me a lot, which is why I am happy to support the project.

Cameroon's portrait

The country of Cameroon is also known as "Africa in small" because of its diverse natural area. The coastal state is rich in ecosystems, raw materials and has a remarkable cultural heritage. A great opportunity for Cameroon lies in its young population, which will assume responsibility in the central African coastal state in the future. However, the consequences of globalization and the increasingly visible effects of climate change pose challenges for the country, as does a high rate of population growth. 24.3 million people live in Cameroon. According to forecasts, the population of Cameroon could more than double by 2050. This not only increases the demand for social infrastructure, but also for electricity. Every person in Cameroon has an average of around 254 kWh a year, while around 3000 kWh worldwide. As a consequence, blackouts are not uncommon, especially in rural areas. In particular, social infrastructure such as schools and hospitals have little resilience to a power supply, the security of which cannot be guaranteed. As a result, schools are limited in their options, which has negative effects on the quality of education and learning success of students in Cameroon.

Education is the key to sustainable development ...

OUR PARTNERS

Förderlogo.PNG

Pilot project

As a cooperation of experts, institutions and civilians from Cameroon and Germany, we make a contribution to the establishment and diversification of energy supply with renewable energies at schools in Cameroon. Our initiative is hosted by the International Women Initiative eV (business number VR 36555B) based in Berlin. As a pilot project, we will conduct a workshop for schoolchildren and young adults and set up a wind turbine. The aim is to design a prototype in Germany and to modify it in Cameroon with the help of local experts and students in such a way that it can be reproduced with local materials in Cameroon, if possible. The project is accompanied by theoretical and application-oriented learning units on the topics of sustainability, climate change, environmental protection and recycling as well as an e-learning platform. The diagrams, texts and videos show the construction of a wind turbine and record the results of the pilot project.

Gruppenbild.png

UNSER PROJEKT: LIGHT UP!

Samantha Essomba Etama , Future Energies Hackathon 2019

Unser Beginn

Berlin. November 2019. Eine Gruppe junger Menschen verschiedenster fachlicher und kultureller Hintergründe findet sich im Future Energies Hackathon zusammen. Was uns antreibt und zusammenschweißt ist dieselbe Vision: Mit nachhaltiger Bildung und alltäglichen Mitteln die Energiewende in Ländern des Globalen Südens zu gestalten. Wir sind Light Up! und in einem Pilotprojekt werden wir in einem partizipatorischen Workshop eine Windkraftanlage mit nachhaltigen, lokal verfügbaren Materialien an einer Schule in Kamerun entwickeln.

Ziele von Light Up!

  • Beitrag zur Bekämpfung des anthropogenen Klimawandels

  • Unterstützung einer diversen und sicheren Stromversorgung in Bildungseinrichtungen Kameruns 

  • Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien im Globalen Süden

  • nachhaltiger Wissenstransfer und interkulturelles Lernen

  • Empowerment  junger Menschen und Frauen fördern

  • Aufbau eines langfristigen globalen Netzwerks internationaler Partner*innen

  • Interkultureller Dialog

Unsere Non-Profit-Initiative Light UP! orientiert sich in seiner Zielsetzung explizit an der Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen und ihrer Sustainable Development Goals. 

Logo Light Up! .png

UNSER TEAM

WhatsApp Image 2020-01-28 at 21.15.19.jp

Projektkoordination 

Stromausfälle in Kamerun sind Teil meiner Kindheitserinnerungen. Das Thema Energieversorgung beschäftigt mich daher schon lange. Light Up! gibt mir die Chance einen Beitrag zur Energiewende zu leisten und Länder des Globalen Südens beim Ausbau ihrer Energieversorgung zu unterstützen.

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-02 at 16.29.43.jp

LINA WAKESHO TOLLE

Im Studium, aber auch außerhalb davon engagiere ich mich für den Umweltschutz. Es liegt mir sehr am Herzen, dass wir auf der ganzen Welt in regenerative Energien ein- und umsteigen. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass unser Windkraftanlagenprojekt in Kamerun dieses Ziel unterstützt.

DSC07789 (1).jpg

JONAS PAUTHNER

Als angehender Geograph interessiere ich mich besonders für die belange des Globalen Südens. Mit LightUp! wollen wir einen Beitrag zur Angleichung der Lebensverhältnisse weltweit leisten. Dabei fördern wir besonders Frauen und junge Menschen.
Das treibt mich an!

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-02 at 19.41.35.jp

GILLIAN GUERNE

Letztes Jahr habe ich meinen Master in Management & Engineering an der Leuphana Universität in Lüneburg begonnen. Meinen Bachelor habe ich in BWL und Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften absolviert. Das Projekt „LightUp“ vereint diese drei Schwerpunkte die mich stark interessieren, weshalb ich das Projekt gerne unterstütze.

Portrait Kamerun

Das Land Kamerun ist aufgrund seines vielfältigen Naturraums auch als “Afrika im Kleinen” bekannt. Der Küstenstaat ist reich an Ökosystemen, Rohstoffen und kann ein bemerkenswertes kulturelles Erbe aufweisen. Eine große Chance Kameruns liegt in seiner jungen Bevölkerung, welche in Zukunft Verantwortung in dem zentralafrikanischen Küstenstaat übernehmen wird. Doch stellen die Folgen der Globalisierung sowie die zunehmend sichtbar werdenden Auswirkungen des Klimawandels das Land ebenso vor Herausforderungen, wie eine hohe Bevölkerungswachstumsrate. In Kamerun leben 24,3 Millionen Menschen. Laut Prognosen könnte sich die Bevölkerung Kameruns bis zum Jahr 2050 mehr als verdoppeln. Dies erhöht nicht nur die Nachfrage nach sozialer Infrastruktur, sondern etwa auch nach Strom. Jedem Menschen in Kamerun stehen durchschnittlich ca. 254 kWh pro Jahr zur Verfügung, während es weltweit ca. 3000 kWh sind. Als Konsequenz dessen sind Stromausfälle besonders in ländlichen Gebieten keine Seltenheit. Insbesondere soziale Infrastruktur wie Schulen und Krankenhäuser haben eine geringe Resilienz gegenüber einer Stromversorgung, deren Sicherheit nicht gewährleistet ist. Als Folge dessen werden Schulen in ihren Möglichkeiten beschnitten, wodurch sich negative Auswirkungen auf Bildungsqualität und Lernerfolg von Schüler*innen in Kamerun ergeben.

Dabei ist Bildung der Schlüssel einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung...

UNSERE PARTNER

Förderlogo.PNG

Pilotprojekt

Als Kooperation von Expert*innen, Institutionen und Zivilbevölkerung aus Kamerun und Deutschland leisten wir einen Beitrag zur Etablierung und Diversifizierung der Energieversorgung mit erneuerbaren Energien an Schulen in Kamerun. Träger unserer Initiative ist der Verein International Women Initiative e.V. (Geschäftsnummer VR 36555B) mit Sitz in Berlin. Als Pilotprojekt werden wir einen Workshop für Schüler*innen und junge Erwachsene durchführen und dabei eine Windkraftanlage errichten. Ziel ist es dabei einen Prototyp in Deutschland zu entwerfen und in Kamerun mit Hilfe lokaler Expert*innen und Schüler*innen diesen dahingehend zu modifizieren, dass er nach Möglichkeit mit lokalen Materialien in Kamerun nachgebaut werden kann. Begleitet wird das Projekt von theoretischen und anwendungsorientierten Lerneinheiten zu den Themen Nachhaltigkeit, Klimawandel, Umweltschutz und Recycling sowie einer E-Learning Plattform. Dort wird anhand von Schaubildern, Texten und Videos der Bau eines Windrads gezeigt und Ergebnisse des Pilotprojekts festgehalten.